RSS News Feed
RSS News Feed
See Maps
  > Quick Links
  > Airport Information
  > Airport Facilities
  > Shopping & Duty Free
  > Before You Leave
  > Getting To The Airport
  > City Directions
  > Local Directory
 
 

When considering Luton Airport flights and bookings make sure you use the following tips so you get the very best deal on flights from Luton. We also make things easier by providing links to online bookings from Luton Airport too.

Luton Airport Flights & Bookings ...

Make sure you get the very best deal on your flights from Luton. With so many options to buy there really is no reason not too. The following unofficial information provides all the options of getting a great deal on your next flight. And there's links to online bookings for Luton Airport.

 

Useful Information ...

 
When looking into your flights from Luton Airport always make sure you have as much unofficial information as possible in order to get the best deal on the market - that means knowing your travel destination, dates, times and airport you're departing to and from.

At the same time why not research the place you're going to too? Great places to look include:
  • Newspaper travel sections
  • Guidebooks and their websites
  • Your destination's tourist board website
For Luton Airport flight unofficial information visit the Terminal Information section of this website for which airlines fly from what airport.
 
 

Before Booking ...

   
 
General Advice
   
 
Airlines make lots of changes to their published prices so do look around the best deal, it might be that by looking a day or so later prices have changed or offer you better routes.
 
 
When getting quotes, and you're offered one that you find very good, don't be afraid to book it straight away. Or, if you'd really rather keep searching then see if you can place a holding deposit on it for the day.

It might end up that by being flexible you get a much better deal - by travelling a day or so before or after your intended dates. Or flying from a smaller airport. And flying at what's considered inconvenient times.
 
If you're calling a travel agent or airlines for a quote then call either first thing in the morning or last thing at night so they are less busy and have more time to help you.
 
Nested Tickets
 
Nested tickets can save you money. These tickets only work when a regular midweek fare is over twice the price of an excursion fare (includes a Saturday stopover) to the same destination.

I.e. you've been quoted say £150 for a flight from Heathrow to Belfast return going out on a Monday and coming back on the Friday of the same week but you can find a return that requires you to stay for a weekend and is priced £75 or less, it is worth buying a nested ticket.

By buy a £75 excursion return ticket leaving on Monday and coming back late in the next week. Then buy another £75 excursion return ticket with the outgoing flight from Belfast on the Friday of your return to Heathrow. The return journey of this second ticket should be dated early in the next week.

This means you basically get two return flights for the price of one! Then, by nesting the tickets for future travel you can make use of all the tickets and save money. It is a little confusing but if you do the research then you are bound to get a cheaper deal. To buy a nested ticket you'll need to speak to a travel agent.
 
Split Tickets
 
Split tickets is another way of sometimes getting a cheaper flight. Split tickets mean you break up your journey with a connecting flight instead of one that's direct. To book a split ticket you'll need to do it through a travel agent.
 
Low Cost Airlines
 
Low cost airlines offer their cheapest flight prices to its earliest customers. The closer you are to the date of travel the more expensive the ticket becomes - even by a day.

But consider that even £1 flights are subject to airport taxes so the ticket could end up costing you more. Also, remember the advertised prices are for single trips not return so you'll need to buy both.
 
By booking online will save you money too.
   
 
   

Avoiding Delays & Increase Legroom ...

   
 
The following advice is on getting more legroom and those flights less likely to be delayed, although not guaranteed.
   
 
  • Major tour operators who have their own airlines like Thomson allow you to pre-book seats for a fee when buying your package holiday.

    Supplements give you better in-flight meals and a bit more legroom.

    www.thomson.co.uk

  • See if the airline has any seating plans published online. If so take a look and ask if you can book your preferred seat.

  • Flights that depart either first or last are less likely to be delayed than those in the middle of the day.
   
 
   

Upgrades...

   
 
Passengers most likely to get an upgrade are those passengers who agree to be bumped on to the next available flight as calculations have gone wrong and the airline ends up with more passengers than seats.

If you agree to be bumped and your delay is more than several hours you will be offered travel vouchers, cash or an upgrade.

Or, if it's less you'll be offered a phone card, food voucher, temporary pass to the executive lounge or, a room at an airport hotel.
   
 
   

Travel Agents Bookings ...

   
 
Travel agents, when you book a flight through them, get paid a commission from the airlines so push for a good deal as both they, and the airline want your business.

Always make sure you are given quotes that give exact details of flights and hotels, not just vague promises. And check any small print of any too good to be true offers!
 
Extra Deals or Savings
  • Do you work for a large organisation? If so see if they benefit from any discounts with any travel companies that you can book through and receive the same company discount. The same if you are a member of any union or membership lifestyle organisation like the Civil Service Motoring Association.
  • Brochure priced holidays can be booked cheaper when booking flights and accommodation directly.
  • City breaks in Europe are ideal for booking yourself and taking advantage of generous discounts as you've cut out any middleman. Use the Internet for a huge choice of airlines and accommodation options.
   
 
   

Online Bookings ...

   
 
Internet sites like Expedia show you what airlines are travelling where so these are often great starting points when trying to book your accommodation yourself.

However, always check the flight is covered by Atol (Air Travel Organisers' Licensing). Also, make sure, when booking online, the site is secure before typing in your payment details - the browser should tell you, and look out for the padlock symbol too.

Email bookings are confirmed via email.

Try Priceline.co.uk also, where you can bid for a flight ticket from airlines, normally about 20-30% cheaper. But these flights normally come with restrictions so check before you buy!

Be made aware of special offers by logging into www.ukfrenzy.co.uk.

And online travel newsgroups host forums with all the special deals its members have seen. Go to groups.google.com and start by searching for "rec.travel" or "rec.travel.air".
   
 
   

Fare Searchers ...

   
 
Log on to these Internet sites for great deals:
   
 
Travel Agent Website
Bargain Holidays www.bargainholidays.com
Cheap Flights www.cheapflights.com
Deck Chair www.deckchair.com
E Bookers www.ebookers.com
Expedia www.expedia.co.uk
Fly Now www.flynow.com
Last Minute www.lastminute.com
Major Travel www.majortravel.co.uk
Opodo www.opodo.co.uk
Sky Deals www.skydeals.co.uk
STA www.statravel.co.uk
Teletext www.teletextholidays.co.uk
The First Resort www.thefirstresort.com
Thomas Cook www.thomascook.com
Trail Finders www.trailfinders.co.uk
   

Links To Online Bookings ...

   
 
Use the links below for quotes on European and Worldwide flights:
 
Airline Website
Aer Lingus www.aerlingus.ie
Virgin www.virginatlantic.com
Ryan Air www.ryanair.ie
British Airways www.ba.com
Air France www.airfrance.com
Air India www.airindia.com
Air Jamaica www.airjamaica.com
Air New Zealand www.airnewzealand.co.uk
Alitalia www.alitalia.co.uk
American Airlines www.americanairlines.com
BMI www.bmibaby.co.uk
Thomson Fly www.thomsonfly.com
Buzz Away www.buzzaway.com
Cathay Pacific www.cathaypacific.com
Continental www.continental.com
Delta www.delta.com
Easy Jet www.easyjet.com
Elal www.elal.com
Emirates www.emirates.com
Iberia www.iberia.com
Iceland Air www.icelandair.co.uk
Kenya Airways www.kenya-airways.com
Malaysia Airlines www.malaysiaairlines.com.my
Monarch www.monarch-airlines.com
Qantas www.qantas.com.au
Scandinavian www.scandinavian.net
Singapore Air www.singaporeair.com
Turkish Airlines www.turkishairlines.com
United Airlines www.unitedairlines.com
   
 
   
   
   
   
   
> How can we help?
> Airport Information
 
 
 
.................................................................................................................................................
Copyright © Helpme Ltd.